chocolateisfromheaven

My first day of trekking! Like when Rocky climbs up those stairs!

In Travel on April 28, 2012 at 11:41 am

After a breakfast in the shadows with a lone light bulb providing light, where we struggled to unpeel boiled eggs (do you unpeel an egg??), we moved out into the mountains! After crossing over a couple of suspension bridges feeling very Indiana Jones like, we started our ascent. I am not a fit person and I can tell you that I was out of breath before we even started but excitement kept me going and going and going until I gave up mentally as the end seemed too far away. Now I had been ‘preparing’ myself for the trek by walking and working out (lightly), but while I was plodding up the trail I realized that my preparation had been all wrong! Now if you live in Dubai, and are planning on going on a trek to Nepal, this is what you should do: Walk up the stairs at Burj Khalifa! Go all the way up and then come all the way down! Do that many times. That will prepare you for this trek! And if you are not in Dubai, then choose the tallest building you have in your city and take the stairs to the top. Or alternatively practice on a real mountain….

Burj Khalifa at Night, Dubai

If you are going to Nepal for trekking and live in Dubai, u need to go to the top of this using the stairs!

Our trail started at Nayapul and went up Banthanti. In between our mid-morning drinks break, and our final tea lodge stop were 5,000 steps; and by steps I mean rocks you have to step on to move up. I take the stairs at work but I don’t think I have climbed up 5,000 steps in my lifetime! We covered 1,170 m in 7 hours and for a beginner it was tiring! But when you stop and look back and catch the view around you, it is amazing, and when you reach the top to your destination and realize you did it, you want to lift your arms up like Rocky did up those steps in the first movie! We were all first timers, and upon hearing 5,000 steps we all gave up mentally, but we were pushed on, yet like little children kept asking every 5 minutes ‘how many steps have we covered now?’. But we saw at the end of it, that we can actually achieve things we really didn’t think we could! That is one thing this trek taught me; that we are all stronger than we think we are and are capable of doing much more than we assume we can. And it feels good to push yourself and make it! You can do it, specially if you got no choice but to do it.

So lessons learned from day 1 of the trek: You can do it! And take the stairs at Burj Khalifa… Enjoy the pictures:

Birethanti

Welcome to Birethanti

Indiana Jonesing it on suspension bridge with prayer flags

Indiana Jonesing it on suspension bridge with prayer flags

water water everywhere

water water everywhere

and trees

and trees

Yak cheese anyone

Yak cheese anyone?

Steps

Steps

and more steps

and more steps

and finally

My five fingers drying out after a long day

My five fingers drying out after a long day

I think I will have 2 more posts with pictures from Gorepani, Gandruk and Poon Hill. Nepal is beautiful and a trip worth going for!

Do leave a reply and tell me what you think!

