chocolateisfromheaven

Beautiful Nepal!

In Travel on April 24, 2012 at 6:09 am

Trekking in Nepal had been on my radar for quite a few years but I was glued to the assembly line grind of daily life and it just remained on my list of things that would be cool to do. Well finally I unglued myself and took the leap! And am I glad I did! Nepal is beautiful! Pictures can do no justice to the natural beauty of the mountains and the awe it elicits. At some points, the view just takes your breath away. I would be plodding, heaving and puffing, my eyes focusing on the terrain at my feet, trying to generate enough energy to lift my weary-so-not-fit legs up and I would stop, look back and below and go ‘wow’, and all the tiredness would be worth it.

It was my first trekking experience and I wish I had tried this years ago! Why do we put off good things in life? We covered Uleri, Poon Hill, Gorepani, Gandruk. The journey was a short one, we didn’t cover much distance if we look at a map, but we did cover quite a bit climbing up and down and for a first timer, it was a good intro to trekking. So let me share some pictures and my personal inputs over the coming days in my blog!

Truck on Way to Pokhara, Nepal

After landing in Kathmandu we hopped onto a packed tourist bus and took the 7 hour journey to Pokhara. Now this was the most difficult and tortuous part of my trip. I was completely not prepared for what happened here. For anyone who gets car/motion sickness, be prepared! Make sure you take your pills in advance and carry them with you on the bus. The bus ride was a rattling, swerving, snaking roller coaster ride on a surface that was more potholes with some areas of flat surface punctuated by shrieking horns as incoming traffic would whiz inches past your window, as you hold your breath to avoid gulping in the exhaust fumes. In short it was a motion sickness nightmare and I was not prepared. The pills finally kicked in at the end of the journey but I was still grateful for that little relief at the end. As I collapsed in bed I seriously pondered cancelling my trek as I waited for the world to stop spinning.

  1. […] Beautiful Nepal! (chocolateisfromheaven.wordpress.com) […]

  2. It sounds like fun through my end though. Im imagining you just jumping up and down while the locals where just relaxing on their seats like nothings happening.

Do leave a reply and tell me what you think!

